Thrill Seeker

Thrill Seeker

Three years ago this last August, I was driving home when I received a phone call from my daughter, Megan. She had been in San Diego for a conference and was flying back to Norfolk. Megan is an Aircrewman in the Navy and was flying on an H-53 helicopter with her crew. Problem was, she was not home yet…she was in the middle of a field in Tennessee. There had been a fire and they had to put down.

Her voice was strong, adrenalin filled, exuberant. I was driving as she explained what happened and the land owner who came out on his four wheeler and overalls to investigate. Mija, I told her, you don’t call your mom as the accident averted has happened, you call me, after you have been rescued and are safe on a base somewhere!

She laughed away my shock with the reassurance of accomplishment. Everyone did what they were supposed to do…everyone did their job, she reassured me. Everything else is secondary…

Leave a Reply

